Blood Rites by Rachel Lynch – Book Review

Blood Rites by Rachel Lynch – Book Review

Blood Rites by Rachel Lynch

Blood Rites
DI Kelly Porter Book Six

Author – Rachel Lynch
Publisher – Canelo
Pages – 384
Released – 10th October 2019
ISBN-13 – 978-1788635554
Format – ebook, paperback
Review by – Stacey
Rating – 4 Stars
I received a free copy of this book.
This post contains affiliate links.

 

DI Kelly Porter is about to discover just how dark things can get in the Lake District. When a young woman is found unclothed, unspeaking at an ancient stone circle it’s not clear if any crime has been committed. DI Kelly Porter and her team start looking into the circumstances, but the mystery girl disappears.

Soon after, a brutal murder is committed and sinister markings at the scene indicate that the killer had a message. The investigation reveals that in the beautiful Lake District there are those who believe in ancient ways, and within those circles old resentments are spilling over into terrible violence. Kelly has all the pieces to solve the puzzle, but to put them together she must confront a figure from her past: one who nearly destroyed all that she holds dear. Will she avoid the same fate this time, or can the killer stay one step ahead of her to the bitter end?

A captivating and atmospheric detective novel from a rising star in British crime fiction, perfect for fans of Patricia Gibney and Cara Hunter.

Review 2017

DI Kelly Porter is back in the sixth instalment of her thriller series. This time a young girl is found at Castlerigg, a stone circle site, by National Park Ranger Joe Spencer who takes his family up to the circle first thing in the morning to watch the sunrise. The girl is naked and seems to be mute.

DI Porter is called in to investigate the circumstances that led to the girl being left in the freezing cold, however, early into the investigation, the girl disappears and Porter is at a loss as to not only why she was at Castlerigg but who the girl is too.

Not long after the girl mysteriously vanished a woman is found murdered at the same spot and the evidence points to the murder being ritual, DI Porter has a tough case on her hands which is only made harder as she tries to work out how vile letters she believes are from a woman she put behind bars are reaching her, and could her past, and could her past becoming back to haunt her?

Blood Rites is the fourth book in the DI Kelly Porter series that I have read, as I missed books three and four, even I’m not sure how!. What I adore about the series is how realistic DI Porter is and how her mind works to solve her cases. She is also dealing with grieving for her late mother in this book as well as the potential loss of her sister who she hasn’t spoken to in months.

The main plot has numerous subplots that all weave their way into one another and with plenty of twists, turns, and red herrings the cases are all exciting and give you a real thrill.

I also love the setting of the series as the Lake District is one of the UK’s most beautiful, normally peaceful areas. There does seem to be a lot of thrillers set in Cumbria these days for an area not associate with lots of crime in real life, but with vast acres of open or forest land and plenty of lakes you can certainly see why lots of thriller writers are using the setting.

As well as the usual criminal activity, I enjoyed the Pagan/Witchcraft aspect that was brought into the book as well as seeing DI Porter’s tough exterior drop for a while.

Blood Rites was another gripping book in the series. If you are a fan of crime detective novels or thrillers I suggest you give this series a read as it really is worth your time.

Book Reviewer – Stacey


Purchase online from:

Amazon.co.ukAmazon.comAmazon.inApple BooksBlackwells


About the Author

Rachel Lynch Blood Rites

Rachel Lynch grew up in Cumbria and the lakes and fells are never far away from her. London pulled her away to teach History and marry an Army Officer, whom she followed around the globe for thirteen years.

A change of career after children led to personal training and sports therapy, but writing was always the overwhelming force driving the future. The human capacity for compassion as well as its descent into the brutal and murky world of crime are fundamental to her work.


What did you think of Blood Rites? Share your thoughts in the comment section below!


The above links are affiliate links. I receive a very small percentage from each item you purchase via these link, which is at no extra cost to you. If you are thinking about purchasing the book, please think about using one of the links. All money received goes back into the blog and helps to keep it running. Thank you.

Like us on Facebook – Tweet us on Twitter – Pin us on Pinterest

You may also like...

6 Responses

  1. Emma Mane says:

    The book looks good. Wonderful review.

  2. Kathy West says:

    Looks like a really good read!

  3. DJ Sakata says:

    New author for me – thanx for the info, I’d like this