The Day I Became the Most Wanted Boy in the World by Tom McLaughlin – Book Review

The Day I Became the Most Wanted Boy in the World by Tom McLaughlin – Book Review

The Day I Became The Most Wanted Boy in the World by Tom McLaughlin

The Day I Became the Most Wanted Boy in the World

Author – Tom McLaughlin
Publisher – Walker Books
Pages – 176
Released – 2nd August 2018
ISBN-13 – 978-1406375800
Format – ebook, paperback
Reviewer – Stacey
Rating – 5 Stars
I received a free copy of this book

 

A laugh-a-minute, worst-day-ever adventure packed full of hilariously witty illustrations.

Nine year old Pete is about to have the worst day ever in this hilarious adventure, perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and Frank Cottrell Boyce. There’s nothing Pete loves more than sitting at home, being quiet and watching the snooker. But when he accidentally bumps into a local gangster, Pete and his super annoying next door neighbour, Sammy, are caught up in a series of events that get worse and worse at each and every turn.

Now Pete is in a race against time to prove his innocence – but it’s tricky to do that, especially when everyone thinks that you’re the most wanted boy in the world.

Review 2017

Nine-year-old Pete loves being alone and friendless. He also loves his favourite sport – snooker. One day whilst watching his favourite sport on TV his mum asks him to go to the local shop for her, giving him a list of items needed.

Begrudgingly he goes. Upon walking past his neighbour’s house he is squirted with a water pistol which hits him right in the eye. He then stumbles into a man walking past holding a piece of paper and nearly knocks him over – both the man and Pete drop their pieces of paper.

Pete retrieves them both and gives the man back his. The man then carries on his way. The squirter turned out to be Sammy, Pete’s next door neighbour and he wants to be friends.

Pete tells him no and to go away but Sammy follows him. When he reaches the shop Sammy is still following him. Pete gives his note to the shopkeeper. However, it would seem that the note isn’t the list of items wanted, but a note stating that he is robbing the place.

With Sammy still brandishing his realistic looking water gun, the shopkeeper hands over the takings from the till – and some tins of Pilchards.

The two try to explain that they are not robbers, but no-one believes them. It is up to them to stay low and try and prove their innocence, but that is easier said than done.

The Day I Became the Most Wanted Boy in the World is a massively entertaining book for children. I would guess for those around seven to twelve years old, depending on their reading skills.

From the first page to the last there is plenty to laugh about. The story is just one big laugh along with a quirky, ridiculous (in a good way) plot.

The pages also include fun small illustrations – these really help the reader to engage with the story.

For a child that likes daft, fun, laugh-out-loud books, this would be perfect.

Reviewed by Stacey


Purchase online from:

Amazon.co.ukAmazon.comiTunes


About the Author

Tom McLaughlin

I write pictures and doodle words for Bloomsbury, Puffin, Oxford University Press, Simon & Schuster, Scholastic, The Guardian, Disney, Nickelodeon. After leaving art college in ’97, I spent nearly 10 years as a political cartoonist for The Western Morning News before going freelance.

I’ve been published both as a writer and an illustrator for a number of publishers, had my books translated across Europe and South America. Apart from publishing, I’ve also spent time script writer and a character designer for several animation channels.

I live in Devon, spend most of my days drinking tea and dreaming up new stories.

facebook new

Instagram

Website blue


Blog posts straight to email via Bloglovin – Like us on Facebook – Follow us on Twitter

You may also like...

9 Responses

  1. DJ Sakata says:

    This looks cute

  2. Ash says:

    This looks good

  3. Shana says:

    That looks interesting!

  4. Tasha says:

    One of my grandsons would enjoy this.

  5. Jordanne says:

    This looks like a fun read!

  6. Sierra says:

    I think this would be a cute read. May have to hunt it down and get it for my son.

  7. Sounds like a wonderful children’s book. Great review!

  8. What a precious looking children’s book!

  9. Cia Black says:

    Would make a great stocking stuffer. (Planning ahead)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.